You are here : Home > Visit > The village of Vézelay > History and environment

History and environment

  • The Origins

    The evidence of a human settlement is found from as early as the Neolithic period (2500 BC), at the site of the Fountains Salées which was later built upon by the Gallo-Romans and used as a spa.

    In 782, the first monastery was  founded in the Valley of Saint Père, by Girard of Roussillon, powerful Captain and  baron. It was destroyed by the Normans some years later, and rebuilt on the Hill, later referred to as “la Colline éternelle”,

     

  • Power struggles under the guise of faith

    In the 12th century, the appearance of the relics of Mary Magdalene made Vézelay one of the most revered places in Christianity and, in 1146, St Bernard had just advocated the second crusade.

    Rebuilt after the great fire of 1120, the monastery had around 800 monks. However, there were many conflicts between the Abbots and residents who were exasperated by the raised taxes to be paid for the construction of the Abbey.

     

  • Declining years

    As early as the middle of the 13th century, the decline began. The hundred years of war and the continuing struggles between Duke of Nevers, King of France and Duke of Burgundy were continuing.

    In the 16th century, as a result of  the religious wars, the monastery and many villages in the surrounding area were looted.

  • Rescue and revival

    In 1840 at the request of Mérimée, Viollet-le-Duc, a young architect of 27 years, saved the forgotten abbey which was now completely in ruins. He undertook its restoration with boldness and skill. It took 19 years of hard work to restore the church back to the former glory of the original building.

    The church and the village of Vézelay have now been  classified a world heritage site by the U.N.E.S.C.O. for more than 40 years.

  • Landscape authenticity and preservation


    Vézelay and its surroundings: an alliance between beauty, diversity and authenticity with a landscape exceptionally preserved to the sweet vallonement and sublime views over the valley of the Cure or Yonne and ... the Morvan.

  • The Morvan Park


    A succession of wooded peaks, steep valleys, rivers and lakes, the Morvan Regional Nature Park is home to unspoiled nature that reveals its attractions along the trails. It's the land of forests, lakes and whitewater.

    Land of diversity, with singing rivers and deep forests appreciated by walkers, it's a great adventure ground for hiking, mountain biking, climbing, horseback riding, canoeing, rafting, etc., with family or friends.

    For more than forty years, women and men have protected and valorized this enchanting terroir to discover absolutely.

  • The Operation "Grand Site de France"

    Vézelay and the surrounding villages constitute a remarkable territory for its landscape, natural and architectural qualities. Even so, the exceptional character of the Vézelay site must be recognized and preserved over time.

    Also the Community of Municipalities Avallon - Vézelay - Morvan is committed to a Grand Site approach. This label is currently awarded by the Ministry of the Environment to a dozen tourist sites respecting the principles of sustainable development such as Mont Saint-Michel, Pont du Gard, Bibracte ...

    It's not only a question of restoring the heritage and landscape qualities that make the site of Vézelay famous but also of developing a project that will ensure its sustainability and enhance the site in all its diversity.

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Visiter > Le village de Vézelay > Histoire et environnement

Histoire et environnement

  • Les origines de Vézelay

    Dès le néolithique (2.500 av J-C), la présence de l’homme est attestée avec l’exploitation du sel aux Fontaines Salées suivie de l’implantation de thermes par les gallo-romains.

    En 782, un premier monastère est fondé dans la vallée, à Saint-Père, par Girard de Roussillon, puissant baron capétien. Détruit par les Normands quelques années plus tard, il est reconstruit sur la colline. 

  • Des querelles de pouvoirs sous couvert de foi

    Vézelay - Colline et basilique au loin
    Vézelay - Colline et basilique au loin

    Au XIIe siècle, la présence des reliques de Marie Madeleine fait de Vézelay un des hauts lieux de la chrétienté et, en 1146, Saint-Bernard vient prêcher la 2ème croisade.

    Reconstruit après l’incendie de 1120, le monastère compte près de 800 moines bénédictins. Mais, de nombreux conflits opposent les abbés et les habitants exaspérés par les impôts levés pour la construction de l’abbatiale.

  • Décadence

    Dès le milieu du XIIIe, le déclin commence. La guerre de Cent Ans et les luttes incessantes entre duc de Nevers, roi de France et duc de Bourgogne se poursuivent.

    Au XVIe, les guerres de religion voient le saccage du monastère et de nombreux villages des alentours.
  • Sauvetage et renaissance

    En 1840 à la demande de Mérimée, Viollet-le-Duc - jeune architecte de 27 ans - sauve l'abbatiale de la ruine et de l’oubli. Il entreprend avec hardiesse et habileté sa restauration : 19 ans de chantier sont nécessaires pour redonner à l’édifice un aspect fidèle à l’esprit originel.  

    Depuis plus de trente ans, l’église et le village de Vézelay sont classés au Patrimoine mondial par l’U.N.E.S.C.O

     


  • Authenticité et préservation paysagères


    Vézelay et ses environs : une alliance entre beauté, diversité et authenticité avec un paysage exceptionnellement préservé au doux vallonement et aux sublimes points de vue sur la vallée de la Cure ou de l'Yonne et… le Morvan.
  • Le Parc du Morvan

    Parc du Morvan
    Parc du Morvan

    Succession de crêtes boisées, de vallées encaissées, de rivières et de lacs, le Parc Naturel Régional du Morvan abrite une nature intacte qui dévoile ses attraits au détour des sentiers. C'est le pays des forêts, des lacs et des eaux vives.

    Terre de diversité, aux rivières chantantes et aux forêts profondes appréciées des marcheurs, c’est un formidable terrain d’aventure pour pratiquer - en famille ou entre amis - randonnées, VTT, escalade, équitation, canoë, rafting, etc.

    Depuis plus de quarante ans, des femmes et des hommes protègent et valorisent ce terroir envoutant à découvrir absolument.

  • L'Opération Grand Site

    Vézelay - Opération Grand Site
    Vézelay - Opération Grand Site

    Vézelay et les villages alentours constituent un territoire remarquable pour ses qualités paysagères, naturelles et architecturales. Encore faut-il que le caractère d'exception du site de Vézelay soit reconnu et préservé dans le temps.

    Aussi la Communauté de Communes Avallon - Vézelay - Morvan s’est engagée dans une démarche Grand Site. Ce label est actuellement décerné par le ministère de l’Environnement à une dizaine de sites touristiques respectant les principes de développement durable comme le Mont Saint-Michel, le Pont du Gard, Bibracte...

    Il s’agit non seulement de restaurer les qualités patrimoniales et paysagères qui font la renommée du site de Vézelay mais aussi d’élaborer un projet qui permette d’en assurer la pérennité et de mettre en valeur le site dans toute sa diversité.